Where not to buy a BLT.

Inside Chicago’s Midway Airport, close to Gate A5, there’s a food place called Manny’s which looks really nice. It’s styled like a vintage cafeteria and seems very popular with people in the airport.
I ordered a BLT, thinking it was an American Classic that I had not yet tried.
The server was grumpy and just threw the food together. I had to rearrange the sandwich myself in order to pick it up and eat it. It cost me almost $8 for that.
It occurred to me just now at the gate lounge when a young woman sat beside me with a burger and fries that I would have had friendlier service and more food for less money at McDonald’s. More calories too, no doubt, but I’d be willing to live with that.

Leave a Reply

