Anne of Green Gables. 

One of my dreams since childhood has been to visit Green Gables and see the places I had grown to love ever since reading my mother’s old copies of Lucy Maud Montgomery’s books. 

Those books were formative for me. I loved Anne for her feistiness, her wordiness, and her ability to get herself into trouble. Her imagination was inspirational to me. I learned valuable moral lessons. Most of all, I got lost in Anne’s world as the story unfolded from one book to the next. 

Today, I fulfilled that dream. 

I arrived at Green Gables in Cavendish on Prince Edward Island and stepped into the world created by Montgomery in her books about Anne Shirley, Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, Anne’s “bosom friend” Diana Barry and a host of other delightful characters. 

I found some time alone to shed some tears. It was quite an emotional experience for me. I had dreamed of being here since I was a girl of 7. 

When I joined my friends, I thought I was over the emotional response, but I blinked back tears several more times during my visit. They were all happy tears, though. 

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The house has been painstakingly restored and maintained.  

  

  

Other places featured in Anne’s world, such as Lovers’ Lane and The Haunted Wood, are also carefully maintained and can be freely visited by visitors to Green Gables. 

   

 
I so loved visiting Anne’s Green Gables today. It is a day I will never forget. 

Leave a Reply

